Indie Dyed Yarn – 140+ Wonderful Indie Yarn Dyers To Browse

By Jodie Morgan | Updated: | Published:

Love yarn? You’re going to adore indie dyed yarn! There are so many wonderful indie dyers out there, and their yarn is just amazing. If you want something special, check out this list.

Rosehip Island Indie Dyed Yarns in Purples and Blues on white background

I reviewed, fact checked and updated this post on May 22, 2023.

Table Of Contents

Indie Yarn Dyers

They’re listed in alphabetical order, and divided by location. Some of the businesses have a brick and mortar store but all offer online shopping.

From Australia

  • Blackwattle Alpaca Yarn (Murrumbateman, NSW): blackwattleyarn.com.au
  • Fiber Lily: fiberlily.com.au
  • Greentea Yarns (Mornington Peninsula): greenteayarns.com
  • Louie & Lola Yarns (Mount Roland, Tasmania): louieandlolayarns.com.au
  • Natural Fibre Arts (Brisbane, QLD): naturalfibrearts.com
  • RoseHipIsland (Launceston, Tasmania): rosehipisland.com
  • Skein Yarn (Coffs Harbour, NSW): skeinyarn.com
  • Waratah Fibres (Launceston, NSW): waratahfibres.com.au
  • Wren & Ollie (St Agnes): wrenandollie.com

From Canada

  • Ancient Arts Fibre (Calgary, Alberta): ancientartsfibre.com
  • Black Cat Yarn (Chilliwack, British Columbia): blackcatcustomyarn.com
  • Hello Stella Fibres (Hamilton, Ontario): hellostella.myshopify.com
  • Midknit Cravings (Saskatchewan): midknitcravings.com
  • Mudpunch: mudpunch.com
  • Ravenswood Fibre Co (Nova Scotia): ravenswoodfibreco.com
  • Rose Hill Yarns (Calmar, Alberta): rosehillyarns.com
  • Smiling Sheep (Alberta): smilingsheepfineyarns.com
  • The Blue Brick (Burlington, Ontario): shop.thebluebrick.ca

From Europe

  • Artemis Yarns (Toulouse, France): artemisyarns.com
  • Faserliebe (Norderstedt, Germany): faserliebe.com
  • Hedgehog Fibres (Cork, Ireland): shop.hedgehogfibres.com
  • Olann (Killygarry, Ireland): olann.ie
  • Ovis et Cetera (Bunde, Germany): ovisetcetera.com
  • Rock The Wool (Euskirchen, Germany): rockthewool.de
  • Screaming Colors (Neuburg, Germany): screamingcolours.de
  • Sternstaub Wolle (Panzweiler, Germany): sternenstaub-wolle.de
  • Tausendschönwolle (Saarbrücken, Germany): strickstduschon.com
  • Tot Le Matin Yarns (Saint-Georges-Motel, France): tot-le-matin.com
  • Wild Atlantic Yarns (Donegal, Ireland): wildatlanticyarns.com
  • Woola Oops (Auvergne, France): woola-oops.com

Elsewhere

  • Cowgirlblues (Cape Town, South Africa): cowgirlblues.co.za
  • Dragon Hoard Yarn: dragonhoardyarnco.com
  • House of Alamode Fibergoods: houseofalamodefibergoods.com
  • Lolabean Yarn & Co: lolabeanyarnco.com
  • Miro Yarns (Maunu, New Zealand): miroyarns.co.nz
  • Miss Lamotte Yarns (Cape Town, South Africa): misslamotteyarns.com
  • Wishbone Yarn (South Africa): wishboneyarn.com

Pin For Later

Indie Dyers Pin

From The UK

  • Catsandsparrow (Bristol): catandsparrow.co.uk
  • Eden Cottage Yarns (Wetherby): edencottageyarns.co.uk
  • Gathered Sheep Yarns (North Essex): gatheredsheepyarns.com
  • Giddy Yarns (Dundee, Scotland): giddyyarns.com
  • Mothy And The Squid (Kirkintilloch, Scotland): mothyandthesquid.com
  • Old Maiden Aunt Yarns (Scotland): oldmaidenaunt.com
  • Qing Fibre (London): qingfibre.com
  • Siobhanscrafts (Warrington): siobhanscrafts.co.uk
  • Stranded Dyeworks (Scotland): strandeddyeworks.co.uk
  • The Fibre Fox (Lincolnshire): thefibrefox.co.uk

From The United States

  • Air de lune (Boston, Massachusetts)
  • Anotherround (Rockland, Maine)
  • Andromeda Sock Yarn (Colorado Springs, Colorado)
  • A Whimsical Wood Yarn & Co
  • Baahyarn (Las Vegas, Nevada)
  • Becozi (Michigan)
  • Blue Moon Fiber Arts (Scappoose, Oregon)
  • Blue Mule Fiber (Fayetville, Texas)
  • Broadwickfibers (Denver, Colorado)
  • Bumblebeeacresfarm (Northern Illinois)
  • Candy Skein (Astoria, Oregon)
  • Casual Fashion Queen (Central Florida)
  • Cat Sandwich Fibers
  • Destination Yarn (Cleveland, Ohio)
  • Dye Diana Dye (Atlanta)
  • DoneRoving (East Maine)
  • Explorer Knits + Fibers (Illinois)
  • Expression Fiber Arts (Charlotte, North Carolina)
  • Fiber Seed (Southern Ohio)
  • Forbidden Fiber Co (Tennessee)
  • Frost Yarns (Southern California)
  • Goosey Fibers (Massachusetts)
  • Graphic Dyeworks (Grand Rapids, Michigan)
  • Junk Yarn (Northern Carolina)
  • Knitology (Michigan)
  • Kindred Red (Oakland, California)
  • Knittingbro Yarn (Frackville, Pennsylvania)
  • Knittinggale Yarns (Washington State)
  • Lady Dye Yarns (Massachusetts)
  • Lavender Lune Yarn Co. (Northern Minnesota)
  • Leading Men Fiber Arts (Central Illinois)
  • Long Dog Yarn (Baton Rouge, LA)
  • Maelstrom Fiber Arts (Wentzville, Missouri)
  • Machete Shoppe (Pennsylvania)
  • MissBabs (Mountain City, Tennessee)
  • Neighborhood Fiber & Co (Baltimore, Maryland)
  • Old Rusted Chair (Nashville, Tennessee)
  • PlankandStella (Indianapolis, Indiana)
  • Playful Day Yarns (Petaluma, California)
  • Polka Dot Sheep (Montana)
  • Purple Lamb Fiber Arts (North Texas)
  • Ritual Dyes (Southeast Portland)
  • Serendipitous Wool Co
  • Shirsty Cat Design
  • Speckled Finch Studios (Northern California)
  • Spun Right Round (Rochester, New York)
  • Stitch Together Studio
  • Sweet Sparrow (New York)
  • Suburban Stitcher (Texas)
  • Teeny Button Studio (New Orleans, Louisiana)
  • The Famers Daughter Fibers (Montana)
  • The Lemonade Shop
  • The Perfect Stitch Fiber Co
  • The Red Pansy (New Jersey)
  • Woolberry Fiber Co (Denver, Colorado)

FAQS About Indie Dyed Yarn

What Is Indie Dyed Yarn?

Indie dyed yarn is yarn dyed by independent, “indie”, dyers. These dyers use unique color combinations and dyeing techniques to create special skeins of yarn.

The colors and textures of indie dyed yarn range from subtle and muted to bright and bold. Indie dyed yarn is a great way to add a unique touch to a knitting project and support small businesses.

What To Do With Indie Dyed Yarn?

Indie dyed yarn is a great way to add unique color and texture to your projects.

If you have a wool-based yarn, use it to create sweaters, hats, scarves, and other cozy items. If you have a cotton-based yarn, use it to create shawls, blankets, and other lightweight garments. The possibilities are endless!

Where To List Indie Dyed Yarn?

You can list indie dyed yarn on online marketplaces like Etsy, Ravelry, and eBay. You can list it on your website or blog, or join an online community of other indie dyers.

You may be able to find local fiber festivals where you can set up a booth to display and sell your yarn directly to customers.

Where Do Indie Dyers Buy Yarn?

Indie dyers purchase yarn from various sources, including independent yarn stores, online shops, and directly from yarn mills. Depending on the fiber, dyers may shop for materials in person, or order from wholesalers. 

How Much Do Indie Yarn Dyers Make?

Indie yarn dyers make a range of incomes, depending on the size of their business, the types of yarns they use, and the customers they have. Some indie dyers may make only a few hundred dollars per year, while others may make thousands or tens of thousands.

Conclusion

Indie yarn dyers are a creative part of the fiber arts community. They’re a great way to support small businesses and to find unique yarns for all of your projects. Happy shopping!

Read Next: Find more great knitting resources with my roundup of great blogs to follow, my blog post interviewing the founders of a fiber fest, and a list of incredible knitwear designers to inspire you.

About The Author

Jodie Morgan From Knit Like Granny

Jodie Morgan (Author & Founder)

jodie@knitlikegranny.com | Lives In: Chiang Mai, Thailand

Author: Jodie Morgan is a passionate knitter and blogger with 40+ years of experience currently living in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Taught by her mother and wonderful grandmother “Mama”, she fell in love with crafting from a young age. When she’s not knitting, you’ll find her enjoying a cup of coffee with cream, or sharing helpful resources and tips with the online knitting community. Get to know Jodie and the team on our meet the team page.

Crunchbase | Flickr | LinkedIn | MuckRack | Ravelry | Substack | Twitter

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.